RSS

The Perfect Classroom “Parent Gift Idea” for the Holidays!

05 Dec

Oh the weather outside is frightful, but this blog is so delightful. And so to the classroom you go. Let It Snow, Let it Snow, Let It Snow. (pssst below is the perfect easy classroom project to send home as “parent gifts” – and it’s a simple math lesson too!)

I woke up this morning in a festive holiday mood, and decided to decorate a little for the holidays, even though I previously decided I wouldn’t because we will be traveling to visit family in Texas for the entire winter break, (home of our Houston imagestuff.com facility). But alas, I couldn’t put on festive holiday music, sip rich hot coco, watch the light rain in Oregon turn to a dusting of snow, without decorating my house a little could I?? Obviously I had reindeer on my mind when decorating… reindeer that I purchase last year at Home Goods (LOVE that store)!

My boys and husband were away, and I was blissfully alone, listening to Pink Martini “Joy To The World”, which is the best Christmas CD ever – (a great stocking stuffer)! I found myself feeling somewhat like an elf, excited to get decorations up for my family to see upon their return, and thinking of fun gift ideas. Hmmm, what sweet little something can my boys give to their math tutor… golf coach… guitar teacher… orchestra conductor… favorite teacher…? I must have been hungry because it hit me – COOKIES IN A JAR! 10 years ago (yes 10) when my oldest son was in 2nd grade, he brought home the most wonderful “Parent Holiday Gift” created during a MATH unit in his classroom. Since I was in “elf mode”, I decided to “assemble” an example, to make sure the instructions I am sharing with you are correct. And boy was it easy… so easy that I am going to have my teenage boys make a few to give to their tutors etc.

Country Oatmeal Cookies in a Jar

3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup rolled oats
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Instructions: Using a 1 quart or 1 liter mason jar, layer in the ingredients in the order given. Pack down the jar after each addition. Put the lid on and decorate with ribbon, construction paper, yarn or cloth. (Hint: If you use cloth – cut an 8″ circle of fabric. Secure the fabric over the lid using a rubber band, then cover the rubber band by tying a nice ribbon or raffia around the lid). Finally, attach baking instruction tags to the jar with ribbon.

I like the “Country Oatmeal Cookies” because the ingredients are simple and the cookies are delicious.

Have your students figure out how much of each ingredient the classroom will need. (There are 20 cups of flour in a 5lb bag / 10 cups of sugar in a 5lb bag / 20 cups of oats in a 5quart container). You can get very inexpensive mason jars at “Value Village” or any thrift store, and most grocery stores carry them. Your students will hone their measuring skills, or learn how to measure, while they create a sweet tasty gift for their loved ones.

Here is a great website with more cookie in a jar recipes.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “The Perfect Classroom “Parent Gift Idea” for the Holidays!

  1. Peter Barker

    December 5, 2011 at 11:43 am

    That’s such a good idea.. Cooking fun for the kids but learning as they go!

     
  2. Carol

    December 5, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I received several of these before I retired and I loved them! The Oatmeal cookies were my favorite and other cookies were good. One student gave me a soup/chili mix that made a delicious winter meal, I think the mother was a creative, gourmet cook. So, I encourage the “givers” to be creative and think of adapting their personal recipes to fit in a jar.

     
  3. Larson Rob and Mary Kathryn

    December 7, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Very cute ideas! Love it!

     

We LOVE hearing from you! Let us know what you think.

 
