RSS

FLASHY and SMART

08 Jan

WE NEED YOUR HELP

Answer two simple questions and you may be ONE of FIVE winners. Each winner will receive both sets of these super cute FlashTags™ for your classroom.

There are 90 tags in the addition set and 54 tags in the subtraction set. Students can quiz each other in classroom study groups, or use them individually. Implement a system for students to “check out” the FlashTags™ for home study. Tags are organized together on 4″ key chains, so keeping them maintained and all in one place is easy! More details here.

WIN TAGS FOR YOUR CLASSROOM:

Please answer 2 questions in a comment on this blog post, and you could WIN a set of FlashTags™ for your classroom. Your comments and email will be added to the contest drawing. The winners will be contacted on or before January 17.

1. Would you find these flash tags useful?  If your answer is no, please explain how they could be changed to make them more useful?

2. Would you pay $24 for the set of 90 addition tags & chains and $15 for the set of 54 subtraction tags & chains?

Thanks for your help! We respect your expertise and appreciate your feedback!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “FLASHY and SMART

  1. Cindy Luoma

    January 8, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    I love these addition and subtraction tags. I could see partners working with them and quizzing each other on their math facts. My only concern is they are expensive. They are cute, but I could do the same thing with flash cards. These are novel and I think they would be fun for the students to use, but I can’t see me investing in them because of the price.

     
  2. Lindy Kirkham

    January 8, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    I am an elementary school teacher who has a class filled with “Math Fear”. Q1-I would certainly be able to use the Tags. Because I teach a 3rd/4th combo class I would find GREATER help if the tags were Multiplication and Division. Q2-I would have need and would pay for both A/S but would REALLY be able to use the same type of sets in M/D. PLEASE–Pick me! I have to pay for my OWN extra-curricular supplies. Working in a small Christian school we do not have the funds to use for this type of useful tool!

     
  3. Katie Neustadter

    January 8, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    These flash tags are unique and adorable! They would be so useful for math fact practice instead of the boring flashcard sets. I love incorporating new ideas into my daily lessons. I would absolutely pay for both the addition and subtraction tags and chains. This product is awesome and I am glad I am on the list for your newsletter to find out about it!

     
  4. carey

    January 8, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    1. Would you find these flash tags useful? If your answer is no, please explain how they could be changed to make them more useful?

    I do think they would be useful. I can see using them as a partner activity where kids could quiz each other. I think they look like they would be sturdy and I like that they are on a chain so they can’t get lost etc. I am wondering whether there is a clear starting place so kids will know whether they have finished the whole set. Otherwise, they might just continue to go around more than once or stop early.

    2. Would you pay $24 for the set of 90 addition tags & chains and $15 for the set of 54 subtraction tags & chains?
    I think the price seems a little high; I am not sure I would pay that much. Flash cards do the same thing, and I can get those at the dollar store. Obviously these are better and more fun…but not sure they are 24 or 15 times better. Also, I know teachers who can make something similar on the computer and have it laminated and then put it on a ring. I would probably go that route at this price. The key is to make the price such that the teacher thinks, “Yeah, I *could* make this myself, but at this price, why bother?” That is why sites like Teachers Pay Teachers are successful. Most of the stuff on there, I could make myself. But I am willing to pay 10 bucks for a unit just so I don’t have to go to the trouble.

     
  5. Karen Moler

    January 9, 2012 at 1:17 am

    I think they would definitely be useful in the classroom and they seem reasonably priced. The only thing I couldn’t tell from the picture was the length of the chain they are on. I think it might be nice if the chain was long enough that students could wear it around their neck if they wanted while they used them.

     
  6. Jennifer Harper

    January 9, 2012 at 1:51 am

    1) I don’t like that there are 90 addition facts. Half of the addition facts are “turn around” facts (2+4 =6 is the same as 4+2 = 6)

    2) I think $24/$14 is steep for this product. $15/$9 seems more reasonable for a product meant to practice addition facts.

     
  7. Janine

    January 9, 2012 at 2:38 am

    This would be a great addition to a small group activity. I could also use it with 2 students testing each other

     
  8. Janine

    January 9, 2012 at 2:39 am

    The price is a little too high, especially on a teacher’s salary. I guess we could write grants to try to buy more than one set.

     
  9. Wendy Kuba

    January 10, 2012 at 12:34 am

    I would definitely use them if I taught the younger grades. Do you have any multiplication/division sets? They might be a bit more expensive than flash cards, but they would last longer.

     
  10. Cindy Marshall

    January 10, 2012 at 5:27 am

    My daughter and I are fans of your brag tags and these math tags are adorable.
    1. I would definitely be able to use these brag tags for practicing our math facts! I know they would be sturdy for my first graders because the brag tags are. The kids love the brag tags and I know they’d love the math tags. I know the kids would love to earn another brag tag for memorizing their facts. Great idea!!
    2. I know I would purchase these tags! Love love love them! I want to be the first one at my school to show them to my other teaching partners. I’m sure they’ll want them too.

    Thanks!

     
  11. Jennifer Knopf

    January 10, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    I think these are a great idea – useful in many ways both in the classroom and for at-home use. I would definitely use them!

    I think the price is a little bit high. If I were going to spend that much money on tags I would rather have a different set of brag tags rather than flash cards which I could make myself or buy at the dollar store.

     
  12. Jaime

    January 11, 2012 at 12:36 am

    I love brag tags and this sounds so neat! Kids would love them, however, I don’t have enough of a classroom budget to buy extra fun stuff like these tags. I was very lucky my principal purchased my first set of brag tags, but I’m not so sure she would splurge for these. If she did, I would use them during our intervention block of time with small groups.

     
  13. Sandra Matadamas

    January 17, 2012 at 2:54 am

    1. Would you find these flash tags useful? If your answer is no, please explain how they could be changed to make them more useful?

    Yes! I think practicing with flash cards helps students remember math facts!

    2. Would you pay $24 for the set of 90 addition tags & chains and $15 for the set of 54 subtraction tags & chains?

    I wouldn’t pay that much for just one set. I would buy a set of “doubles facts” or plus one facts! 🙂 Smaller sets might be a little cheaper!

     

We LOVE hearing from you! Let us know what you think.

 
