RSS

Teacher of the Year – Giveaway!

27 Apr

YIPPEE!  WE LOVE BEING IN THE NEWS! : )

Recently President Obama recognized Rebecca Mieliwocki, a 7th grade English teacher at Luther Burbank Middle School as 2012 NATIONAL TEACHER OF THE YEAR. We are exceptionally proud to say that her school, Burbank Middle School, is one of our VALEUD customers! (hip hip hooray!)

We are also very proud of another VALUED customer, Carl Melhorn, who was announced as 2012 Educator of the Year by Camarillo CA Chamber of Commerce. It was noted that Mr. Melhorn gives his students BragTags™ to honor academic achievement. (another yippee!)

By now, you know we LOVE teachers, you know we are proud of teachers and you know how important we thinks teachers are! And by now, we know how much you LOVE BragTags™. (thank you) : )

Quote of the week: “Set the highest goals for each and every one of your students, but do me a favor and set an even higher set of goals for yourself. You are a hero to someone and you may not even know it.
Rebecca Mieliwocki / 2012 National Teacher of the Year
 
53 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

53 responses to “Teacher of the Year – Giveaway!

  1. Kelly Brown

    April 27, 2012 at 9:32 am

    I would use the brag tags to help motivate my students to do their best daily! They would be wonderful bucket fillers too!

     
  2. Amelia Cook

    April 27, 2012 at 10:28 am

    Iwould use brag tags to welcome my new third graders next year at the beginning of the year!

     
  3. brianne

    April 27, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    I would use Brag Tags for our end of the year student awards! My students would love receiving these instead of the same old paper certificates!!
    bl3982@yahoo.com

     
  4. Allison Kelly

    April 27, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    I would use the Brag Tags to reward my students for reaching goals they set for themselves. For example, I just had a student who set a goal for himself to finish his first chapter book. He set that goal AND HE DID IT!!! It was a really big deal, for this student in particular, and it would have been amazing if I could have given him a Brag Tag. Thank you for this opportunity!

     
  5. Lorraine @ Fabulous 4th Grade Froggies

    April 27, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    This year I would use the brag tags to congratulate the kids for a job well done (on state testing)!

     
  6. Colleen

    April 27, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    ♥ it!! Love your tags, my students absolutely love earning them for behavior, and for reading. If I won these I would get more reading ones to celebrate the readers in our building!

     
  7. Rachel M.

    April 27, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    Since there is less than a month left of school, I would use the Brag Tags as a gift to my students to read: Have a Fun Summer! Best Wishes in 2nd Grade!

     
  8. Michele Nelson

    April 27, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    I absolutely love bragtags. I would love to give an end of the year tag to my students telling them You are O”FISH”ALLY in 2nd grade.

     
  9. Elizabeth Polston

    April 28, 2012 at 1:58 am

    I would use them to either congratulate this years kinder class on finishing out this year and learning so much or I would get them to welcome the incoming class in August.

     
  10. Jana

    April 28, 2012 at 3:24 am

    I want to use brag tags next year in my classroom! These would make the kiddos feel so proud! Would definitely use as “motivators”…..thanks for the opportunity!
    Jana

     
  11. Jen

    April 28, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    I have never used bragtags but would like to give them a try ! I would like to use bragtags for

    a. QR codes so students can go to a computer – scan the tag and then go directly to the site or resource.
    b. QR codes with my contact info so parents can get help if needed.
    c. put essential questions or writing prompts on the bragtag, higher level questions…
    d. use bragtags as formative assessment tool (feedback to student) or instructional reminders…. such as for ELA (remember finger spaces, check your punctuation, add details to your writing etc…)

    endless possibilities…

     
  12. Tere Prendiville

    April 28, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    I would use the Brag Tags to keep my first graders excited about making and achieving goals!!

     
  13. Amy Poland

    April 28, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    My 8th graders LOVE receiving little things that recognize them for any reason. I fear that we recognize students too rarely, especially the ones who really NEED it. Brag tags are a great way to fill such a need!

     
  14. Peggy Paulson

    April 28, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    I would love to use Brag Tags as a motivator for the last few weeks of school. My students could earn one for academic achievement, positive attitude, reading, and math accomplishments. by completing certain tasks I design for each subject, they could earn a complete set of “tags” that they could “brag” about to their friends!

     
  15. Nichole Dirks

    April 28, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    I would love to use Brag Tags as rewards for attendance, behavior, testing grades (we do district testing 5 times throughout the year … these would be AWESOME motivators for students to take their time and do their best on the test). Thank you for this giveaway!! 🙂

     
  16. Lori

    April 28, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Love them! I would use Brag Tags to motivate my kids with their reading. They have just started reading and these would motivate them to keep practicing!

     
  17. mrsfish3rd

    April 28, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    I have never used brag tags in my classroom, but would absolutely love too! I feel that these tags would be wonderful motivators for extra reading outside of the classroom. I recently found an idea I want to implement next year in my classroom that uses brag tags! I feel that if they can brag to their fellow friends and teachers about how much extra reading they are doing outside the classroom, their confidence will soar!

     
  18. Dana Baker

    April 28, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I would love to use Brag Tags to motivate my K kiddos in reading. They would be so excited to earn these!

     
  19. Tiffany Young Hone

    April 28, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    I would use BragTags to help motivate and reward my students in reading and doing their homework. I work in a Title I school, and I am always looking for creative ways to help get my kids excited about learning and growing. I think the tags would excite my students and be visual reminders of their accomplishments. BragTags would be a fabulous way to help my students feel proud of their achievements!

     
  20. Susan A.

    April 28, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    I would LOVE to use Brag Tags to honor my sweet class at the end of the year. They would LOVE them!

     
  21. Anna L

    April 28, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    I would use my brag tags as a classroom positive behavior incentive! I would collect tickets per month and for the students who have the amount I have asked for will receive a tag for that month to add to their necklace!

     
  22. Amber Davis

    April 29, 2012 at 5:31 am

    I would use the brag tags to encourage students to act caring toward each other. I would give a brag tag to a student who showed kind actions toward another classmate.

     
  23. Caroline B.

    April 29, 2012 at 7:21 am

    IBragTags are AWESOME! I would love to use these at the beginning of the year as my teaching business card. It would have our class website and school number. I think parents and students would love having a bragtag for this purpose.
    Thanks for this chance!

     
  24. Laura B

    April 29, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    I have had the privilege to work in a small private school with only 10 children who needed a lot of love and dedication. They have succeeded from the moon and back and they deserve these bragtags! At my school, you teach for the love of it because I don’t make even half of what starting teachers make… but these students deserve more than anything these bragtags for getting through their difficult times and surpassing their goals and achievements… if I win, I will share them with my 10 amazing kids and then the rest of the school!! 🙂

     
  25. Caroline

    April 29, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    I’d love to use them as my teaching contact card. I’d pass them out the the students at orientation. The tags would have my class website and school phone number. I love brag tags.

     
  26. The Colorful Classroom

    April 29, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    I would use BragTags to reward my student for reaching their reading goals!

     
  27. Michele Malamud

    May 1, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    I’ve seen brag tags all over the web. I would love to use these as behavior incentives with my first graders. I would like a tag that says Caught Being Good. I also do Handwriting Princess and Handwriting Hero. It would be great for encouraging nice handwriting.
    Thanks for this chance

     
  28. Courteney

    May 1, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    I think they would be great on backpacks letting others know if they are a bus rider, car rider, walker, or go to an afterschool program. Our school requires kids to have a sign but they always get ruined the first week. A little dog tag on their backpack would be perfect along with our room information.
    Thanks,
    Courteney

     
  29. Jaime

    May 2, 2012 at 12:48 am

    I am a huge fan of brag tags! Our school is starting a new school wide behavior program in the fall and once a week we will have a school meeting together in our cafe. Each teacher will present 2 kids with an award and I am pushing for brag tags to be the award!!!!!!! I can’t wait to place that huge order if my principal is up for it! : )

     
  30. Gina Shumate

    May 2, 2012 at 1:59 am

    I am planning on using the brag tags for many motivational things. But my biggest one is to use them as incentives to be THINKERS and PROBLEM SOLVERS. I’m not even looking for right answers, I just want some good thinking going on and I think these brag tags will certainly get some brain activity started.

     
  31. Diane Zurlo Keller

    May 2, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    I would use brag tags as a part of our new character education initiative – they would make awesome rewards!

     
  32. Lisa Hubbard

    May 2, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    I would remind students of the key bocabulary word or iver riding concept for the lesson. Sometimes making human matching games and more!

     
  33. Kerri

    May 2, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Cool. I would love to be able to give my students something when they do a great job. These would be perfect. It is so important to recognize students when they are successful and encourage them to continue to be so.

     
  34. Erin F

    May 2, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    I would love to use BragTag along with our positive behavior system. They would be a great extra incentive for my first graders!

     
  35. Delighted

    May 5, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    I would use brag tags as a tool to motivate all my students. Definitely a wonderful incentive!

     
  36. Christina D.

    May 6, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    I would use brag tags for when students do something out of the ordinary. Brag tags can be awards for when they catch me making mistakes in class, help out a classmate without being asked, assist the teacher or the school when they think no one is looking, etc. Students can use brag tags for extra credit on tests, homework or other things.

     
  37. Shawn Turpin

    May 6, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    I would love to use brag tags to encourage students to show care and compassion for others. To do this I would hand out the tags whenever I see students go above and beyond to help others.

     
  38. Peggy E.

    May 6, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    I would use the N.E.A.T Brag Tags (Never Ever Absent or Tardy) to reward and recognize those students with perfect attendance…… I would also use the Brag Tags to recgnize student achievement at our quarterly awards assemblies.

     
  39. Aneesah Abdus-Shakur

    May 7, 2012 at 1:30 am

    I would use brag tags to motivate my students to read at home as well as a new system to encourage great behavior. I could combine our PBIS behavior system with a jazzy reward system that cab be applied to their academics, too!

     
  40. Amelia Cook

    May 7, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    I would use brag tags to welcome my students into their first year of third grade! It would give them a sense of pride of being part of a great team and working together to all be team players!! This would be great to introduce the first habit of being a happy kid by being PROACTIVE!

     
  41. Cindy Marshall

    May 7, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    There are so many cute and motivational brag tags available. This company is awesome! Our principal loves the tags too. We will continue to use them to motivate our firsties for behavior, reading accomplishments, end of the year awards, birthdays, math accomplishments, and the list goes on and on! Our kids wear their brag tag necklaces to assemblies and other important activities. Thanks for the great product! We highly recommend them to all teachers.

     
  42. Jennifer Knopf

    May 7, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    I love to use Brag Tags to motivate my students and to mark accomplishments like learning their math facts, or sight words, doing well in spelling or finishing up a big teaching unit!

     
  43. Kristi Sikora-Blankenship

    May 7, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    I use them and my 4th graders LOVE THEM! It has brought such joy to their days. Each day they want it to be what they call “A brag tag day”. I have only 18 left (our of my 29) eligible for the 100% homework tags and they let everyone know they will get earning that popular tag! I have a set of “special” tags for honesty, respect, responsibility…. They all want these so badly. I write them notes in sharpie on the back when I present those limited edition ones. I always plan to use these in my classroom because they motivate me (and I am 40) and they have really been an exciting part of my classroom management plan this semester.
    Kristi

     
  44. Sandra Matadamas

    May 7, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    I already use them in my classroom! If a student gets on pink on my behavior chart, they get to earn a bead on their brag tag! My brag tags are on a bulletin board in my room!!! 🙂 My kiddos are always counting their beads and are so proud when they reach 10 because they are able to get something out of the treasure box. They then trade their 10 beads for a star bead!!!
    I would love to add actual brag tags again!!! 🙂 I would use them for the kiddos that bring their homework, friends that are caring, and good behavior!!! 🙂 The possibilities are endless… check out my blog to look at my board!!
    sweettimesinfirst.blogspot.com

     
  45. whnuwishupnastar

    May 8, 2012 at 12:08 am

    I’d love to use Brag Tags to help my kids reach for goals like 100% homework, keep track of each time they finish reading and responding to a book, and more! 🙂 I love Sandra’s idea too! It’s such a good idea!! 🙂

    Danielle

     
  46. Danielle Renee

    May 8, 2012 at 12:10 am

    I would totally use them to help my kids reach for their goals: 100% homework, good behavior, keeping track of the number of books that they finish reading and respond to throughout each month! I’d love to use it for Sandra’s idea too! There are so many possibilities! I’m sure my kids would just eat them up! 🙂

    Danielle

     
  47. Michelle Bryant

    May 8, 2012 at 1:08 am

    I would love to use the Brag Tags at our end of year class awards ceremony, especially to highlight how my 4th grade students have grown and developed in character this year. In a Title I school like mine, some students can be very difficult to motivate, but my students have persevered despite many challenges in their lives, and I think these would be a great way to recognize them.

     
  48. Lisa R.

    May 8, 2012 at 1:29 am

    I would use Brag Tags to encourage my students to master important skills, like sight words and math facts. I know they would love them!

     
  49. Angie

    May 8, 2012 at 2:01 am

    We group our kiddos this year, and I would love to use these as additional motivators for the 30+ students that I’d see over the course of the day/week/year 🙂 We did not do the behavior charts this year, since kids are visiting different rooms, but are finding that it is harder to manage the behavior from class to class. First graders LOVE collecting things, and these would be PERFECT for them! (I love some of the ideas above too!)
    Angie
    mrsrubinsclass.blogspot.com

     
  50. Jennifer

    May 8, 2012 at 3:07 am

    I would use the Brag Tags to recognize students who reach their goal. I would also use them as motivators for good behavior for students.

     
  51. Marti

    May 8, 2012 at 4:03 am

    I would use the Brag Tags as motivators to encourage my students to be the best they can be — whether in reading, writing, arithmetic … or behavior … or special interests like peer tutoring or special projects … or in finding ways for them to learn to “give back.”

     
  52. Silvia Higuera-Backlund

    May 6, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    I’m a parent where we are encourage to participate in the classroom and be part of school, I would use the brag tags to acknowledge the wonderful teachers and staff as a reminder of how much we appreciate what they do for our kids! We LOVE our teachers and school!

     

We LOVE hearing from you! Let us know what you think.

 
