RSS

Summer Favorites

19 Jun

Now that summer is upon us, I thought I’d deviate from the business at hand and write about my five “summer fav’s” so far.

#1. YUM! A friend told me about the benefits of Peppermint tea. I’ve started to sun brew a jar of Culinary Circle Purely Peppermint herbal tea every week, and drink a glass or two every day. My son even drank a glass before he took the SAT. It may be all in my mind… but I feel so focused! : ) Check out the major benefit of peppermint tea:

Mental Focus – Peppermint tea has a cool, refreshing flavor and an invigorating aroma that can help drivers stay alert, focused and less anxious, says the Indiana State University Department of Human Resources. The aroma of peppermint tea can boost mental performance and promote focus, making tea a useful drink for students, employees in the workplace or anytime alertness and energy are required. There are other great benefits too!

#2. YUM! In my ongoing efforts to function more efficiently every day, I’ve found out about a “wonder snack”… Greek Yogurt. Greek yogurt is a protein powerhouse! It has a thicker and smoother texture than regular yogurt and taste decadent. I love the different flavors and portion size of FAGE greek yogurt, my favorite being cherry, cherry pomegranate and strawberry. However they have every flavor under the sun! The best part… 0g of fat!

#3. FUN! I’m loving the stretch Chambray Cuff Target shorts by Mossimo. Not only are they inexpensive, they look great (especially if you’re like me and don’t have the longest legs) : )  Lots of bright summer colors, I seem to always go with the neutral colors. Pair them with a Target tank by Mossimo, and your summer wardrobe is set and you still have $$ in your wallet!

#4. FUN! Ok, this is where I didn’t go with neutral colors. I can’t get enough of the uber colorful “premium super shiny crop jeans from the Gap. Bright teal, orange, tangerine, pink, and more. I find myself wearing these colorful jeans to the grocery store, out to dinner, to the movies, or to the farmers market. They are comfy, lightweight and oh so summery. : )

#5. So Good! I’ve just started (and almost finished) the book, Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand (she also wrote Seabiscuit – another one of my favorites). Unbroken is an amazing heart wrenching and heart warming true story of a man named Louie Zamperini. “The only runner who could beat him was Seabiscuit,” said Louie Zamperini’s coach at the University of Southern California, as this track star, who had competed in the 1936 Berlin Olympics, trained for the 1940 Olympics in Tokyo. But a deeply unfunny thing happened to him on the way to Japan. The 1940 games were canceled. Mr. Zamperini became an Air Force lieutenant. And he wound up going to Japan not as a miler but as a savagely abused prisoner of war.

Now a little business:

SAVE THE DATE: JUNE 22 – GIVEAWAY CONTEST (FULL COLOR DISPLAY BANNER FOR YOUR CLASSROOM)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Summer Favorites

  1. Renee'

    June 20, 2012 at 12:29 am

    I totally have those Target shorts! I want them in every color. Best. Shorts. Ever. Thanks for the awesome list. I’m trying the tea tomorrow.

     
  2. Jennifer

    June 20, 2012 at 12:59 am

    During testing week, we always give our students peppermints to suck on during the test, plus we put peppermint in the Scentsy to infuse the room. We figure it can’t hurt and it just might help them focus more! Thanks for the book pick too – going to have to check it out!

    Jennifer @ Herding Kats In Kindergarten

     
  3. Carol

    June 20, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Like the choice of shorts and pants (I have lime green and black) and loved the book, did you know he is still alive and did not meet the author until after the book was published?! Will try the tea, even though coffee is still my favorite drink 🙂

     

We LOVE hearing from you! Let us know what you think.

 
