RSS

GIVEAWAY – Classroom Full Color Vinyl Door Banner

20 Jul

Is it time to start decorating your classroom? Or at least thinking about it? We want to help by GIVING you something colorful, creative and fun that will welcome students into your classroom every day!

A FULL COLOR DOOR BANNER!

This banner is high quality vinyl, hemmed and grommeted, indoor/outdoor and can have anything you can imagine on it! Below is an example from our designers. Use this design, or design the door banner to fit a theme in your classroom… a tree, a monkey, a cat, a dog, a zoo, kids faces – anything… really anything. : )

The size of the banner will be the size of your entire door (you can specify the size you need).

Contest: July 20-25

To Enter:
1. Make sure you follow our blog (upper right corner of blog)
2. Leave a comment on this blog post:  WHAT ARE YOUR CREATIVE TIPS FOR DECORATING AND ORGANIZING YOUR CLASSROOM?
3. That’s it! GOOD LUCK! 
 

Check out how much decorating the talented Jennifer (in First Grade Blue Skies) was able to get done in her lonely empty school. Her ideas are adorable and of course we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE her BragTag™ tree!! http://firstgradeblueskies.blogspot.com/2012/07/what-ive-been-up-to.html

Good luck in this contest, and in decorating your classroom! The Cornerstone, creating a cozy classroom, has great ideas for not only decorating so your classroom is aesthetically pleasing, but also decorating to promote participation, reading and motivation in your classroom.

 
41 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

41 responses to “GIVEAWAY – Classroom Full Color Vinyl Door Banner

  1. Carrie Bartlett

    July 20, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Dollar store stuff can be jazzed up, and it’s cute. 🙂

     
  2. Lorena Reimann

    July 20, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Recycle containers and thrift store finds help.

     
  3. Cheryl

    July 20, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    I love to use the cute plastic shoe boxes with lids for my centers. It is easy to keep the pieces together and they stack so nicely! Because it is back to school time, I am finding such cute colors to coordinate with my classroom!

     
  4. Christina Adams

    July 20, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    I love to keep my papers for the week separated in trays by my desk (by day). I have also used a filing system to pass by grade work to the students. It takes up less space and the students can help file for me.

     
  5. whitney

    July 21, 2012 at 12:57 am

    Target Dollar Bins and the Container Store for organizing basics!

     
  6. Marissa Zimmer

    July 21, 2012 at 1:23 am

    I have the smallest classroom I’ve ever seen (I don’t even have a closet! :(), so I try to use every inch of space. I use over-the-door shoe pockets to hold my kids’ buckets for bucket-filling and use clips with magnets on the otherwise unused chalkboard to hold pocket charts. I started trying to use a cohesive theme last year (stars), and that helped to make decorating easier. Thank you for the great giveaway!

     
  7. Elizabeth Podolski

    July 21, 2012 at 2:06 am

    I have a small classroom, so I try to make my room bright and colorful, but not too cluttered. I like to try to keep my things organized so that I can easily get to them when I need them.

     
  8. Sandra Matadamas

    July 21, 2012 at 2:30 am

    This is an awesome giveaway! That door banner is UH-MAZING! It would be super for my classroom since my door is facing the outside and all of my door labels get wet from the rain!! This would be perfect!
    Here are some tips for organization:
    If you have a color theme, pick 2-3 colors to focus on!
    Use black paper for your bulletin boards!
    Label EVERYTHING!
    Keep things that you need often somewhere easy to reach!
    Number your students and use the numbers to label cubbies, notebooks, labels!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

     
  9. Kerri Quinn Taylor

    July 21, 2012 at 2:53 am

    I like to use a lot of bright colors.

     
  10. Katie Robinson

    July 21, 2012 at 2:55 am

    Fabric as backgrounds on bulletin boards.

     
  11. Gloria Wilson

    July 21, 2012 at 2:57 am

    Share decorations with other teachers and try to store little used items in a central location

     
  12. Sherie M.

    July 21, 2012 at 3:24 am

    I like to use unexpected things to jazz up my room. When I did a polka dot theme, I used round straw place mats to hang on the walls as giant colorful dots. I also love wall clings. They are colorful and easy to remove. As for organizing, I have come to realize that I have a container addiction – baskets, boxes, trays, etc. this year they will all be even better because I just bought a Silhouette Cameo cutting machine and will have awesome labels. I do usually stick to a color scheme with 2-3 colors.

     
  13. Alicia Neal

    July 21, 2012 at 3:27 am

    I use fabric for the bulletin boards. It lasts all year long.

     
  14. Marilyn

    July 21, 2012 at 10:42 am

    I am working on being more organized …but started a classroom theme last year. It makes it easier to coordinate things in your room.

     
  15. Colleen Furlong

    July 21, 2012 at 11:04 am

    I use a lot of clear tubs, and crates on top of cubbies, I cover the crates with unused library shelves, to create more shelving! Can you tell there is NO built in storage in my room?

     
  16. Sharon Whitis

    July 21, 2012 at 11:28 am

    try to not have to many colors going on, even though it looks great. Target and the dollar tree are great places to shop and stock up on supplies for the class.

     
  17. monica hiatt

    July 21, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    I usually decorate my room with monkeys, we have drop ceilings so I buy a green plastic tablecloth and cut it in half longways. I then weave it through the drop ceiling so it looks like a vine. I then make colorful flowers out of tissue paper and pipe cleaners, I hang them along with my monkeys from my vine.
    I organize my classroom by using a file box and hanging folders to organize my handouts by day and subject

     
  18. Gina Nicholls

    July 21, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    This banner is AWESOME!! I love to pick a theme and then try to find creative ways to make the theme myself…like during my sports theme…I used real sports equipment to decorate with. I organize my classroom by taping photos to shelves so students know exactly where to put things back. Thank you for the opportunity to win this fantastic banner!

     
  19. Meg

    July 21, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    I love using fabric as the backer on my bulletin boards, because it doesn’t fade, and I can reuse it year after year.

     
  20. Rhonda P.

    July 21, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    Instead of using butcher paper or fadeless paper, I use material as my bulletin board background. It will withstand the test of time 🙂

     
  21. Kelly Beam Brown

    July 21, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    This banner is awesome! I have a classroom theme of bees. I use black and white and yellow and white too. I think the key thing is not to have it so overwhelming for the kids. Some kids can’t focus in the room if there are too many things going on; I love making my classroom look inviting for the kids and look forward to decorating every single year! Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  22. Cherese Smith

    July 21, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    I am always looking for fun, creative, and inexpensive ways to decorate my classroom. I work hard to make sure my jr high students are surrounded by social studies, writing and reading concepts. I use party stores and the Internet for ideas.

     
  23. Queen of the Click (@queenoftheclick)

    July 21, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    One of the most useful things I do is to purchase Ziplock Gallon bags. I label each bag with the months of the year. Then in each bag, I place the things I will need to decorate one bulletin board each month. So in the bag goes a piece of paper with a sketch of how the bulletin board will look (or snapshot if I have already done the board). Then I place the fabric that I will use as the background on the bulletin board, the bordette/trim that will be used and the letters and cutouts that I will use on the board, as well as. I put all of these bags into a box so they are ready and organized for the year.

    I love choosing a color or two AND black & white. The black and white really makes the other colors pop. That’s why a lot of teachers love the polka dots or the zebra print.

    After you choose colors, you can buy spray paint from Home Depot, Walmart or Michaels for about $4.00 and make coordinating accessories. The dollar store and Target are great places to pick up 50 clothes pins for $1.00 or little plastic bins. Even the recycling container at your home contains some great plastic or metal cans that can be sprayed. Take everything outside and spray it in your coordinating colors. When it’s dry, put black and white ribbons on it to make it coordinate with your room.

     
  24. Helen Wagner

    July 21, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    I use fabric on bulletin boards and color coordinated accessories from the Dollar Tree. I decorate by theme, and right now it is Lips as I am a speech therapist. I use bright bins and trays to organize my materials. I like my room to be welcoming and organized, with everything in its place!

     
  25. Katie

    July 21, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    I LOVE anything bright. Always try to incorporate bright/fun colors into your classroom. I want my room to be a happy place for both myself and my students.

     
  26. Mal

    July 22, 2012 at 5:51 am

    I like to find things that can be used differently than their intended purpose. I go on the hunt for a good deal too!

     
  27. Holly Thorwarth

    July 22, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    One creative tip that I use is I have a solid wall of resource type posters. I gave them a 3-D effect by glueing smaller boxes on them before glueing them to the wall. This way the posters are on different levels and not all against the wall.

     
  28. Jennifer

    July 22, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    I like my room to be cozy and inviting. I try to limit the amount of things going on so that the room is more calm than frenzied. Clutter kills concentration, as does loud colors! Since I teach little ones I try to pick a theme and then coordinate around that, but it has to be functional as well as cute or it doesn’t get a chance to come in my room. I also like to have spaces for different things going on in my room – a reading corner, a small group learning area, our rug for whole group learning etc.

    Another thing is to know the fire code rules – our fire marshall has nixed fabric bulletin boards and we have to have 6 feet of clearance for each doorway as well as clear walkways to the exits. I had a friend who had to redo her entire room after the fire marshall’s visit, so it makes sense to find out the rules before you spend your money and time!

     
  29. Betsy

    July 22, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    I use fabric as the background on my bulletin boards. They don’t fade and can stay up all year long. Our custodian sprays the fabric so that it is fire retardant. I also use clear plastic shoe boxes with lids to hold supplies and use a label maker to label each box. They stack up nicely and look very organized in my cabinets.

     
  30. Heather S.

    July 22, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    Wow! What an amazing offer for a giveaway! Setting up a classroom is really important because it sets the tone for the entire year. It helps welcome families and students to your classroom. I always begin the year by placing my desks in the form of the letter u. This helps me see every student, every student can see the other students, and all students can see me. I think it is a very welcoming format. I have yet to see the perfectly organized classroom, but it helps if you have designated areas for things. Teach the students these places that you have as homes for items in your classroom. That will help build ownership and responsibility. I love color! I have colorful nametags, colorful posters, color everywhere! I think this also gives my room a warm welcoming feeling. Your room should reflect your personality, should welcome families, and should make your students feel at home. To me, it’s easier to organize as the year goes on and you learn students’ personalities. I think organization can change as the needs of your students change. It has taken me awhile to forgive myself for not being perfect. Understand that it is a classroom, and it may never be exactly organized to the standard you are hoping to reach, but ask yourself, “Is this a room where I would like my child to learn?” Or “Is this the place where I would like to learn?” I think sometimes creating a warm, welcoming, friendly environment is more important than your level of organization. Thank you again for this opportunity! I hope everyone has a wonderful year.

     
  31. Jackie D.

    July 23, 2012 at 2:27 am

    I love to organize my rooms in sections…makes a smaller room look big. I have a library with shelves, rugs, bean bags and pillows in one corner. In another corner is my media section with computers and a green screen (actually a green sheet!). Another corner is my desk with all my materials I need. The final section is the “student’s” area, with their cubbies, star of the week and mailboxes. I tried to make sure the classroom reflects my students and our classroom community. I think that banner would make a great first impression!

     
  32. Christina Brown

    July 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    I teach pre-k and store items in clear containers with labels on the container and shelf. The children have to help clean-up and this helps. For bulletin boards I use plastic table cloths for backgrounds since teacher paper is so expensive. The children’s journals and other items are stored in a rolling 20 drawer (2 columns of 10) organizer with their names on each drawer. Again, they are responsible for their things.

     
  33. Jennifer

    July 23, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I love to re-purpose items, like Pringles cans or old picture frames! I use lots of bright colors and, of course, polka dots!

     
  34. Lori Archer

    July 23, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    I take time and look at how the room looks and them ass stuff to make my classroom welcoming and relaxing.

     
  35. Meagan

    July 23, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    I like to organize by color and I use colored chairs and bins to help the children understand where things belong. I have found colored bins at thrift stores and the dollar store.

     
  36. Tracey Carter

    July 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    I use hanging files to organize my papers for the week. I hang them on the wall and this gives me more counter space.

     
  37. m jacquet

    July 23, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    I’m having a pirate theme this year. Been searching yard sales and thrift stores for items related to the theme. Have found many wonderful items. To stay organized on students work, we use different color trays to represent work finished, in progress or re-do.

     
  38. LisaSharp

    July 23, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    I love the idea…beats paper, new fresh ideas and time!!!!

     
  39. Patti Brooks

    July 23, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    I use the pocket charts from Target Dollar Spot for my word wall, my Daily 5 CAFE board and a similar board for writing. They’re colorful, bright and make the room look festive!

     
  40. Jennifer

    July 25, 2012 at 4:10 am

    I use 2-3 main colors for my classroom. I use fabric on my bulletin boards. It also helps to have everything labeled.

     
  41. Barb

    July 26, 2012 at 6:58 am

    Lots of blue for a bright but peaceful look.

    ❀Barbara❀
    Grade ONEderful
    Ruby Slippers Blog Designs

     

We LOVE hearing from you! Let us know what you think.

 
