RSS

BragTag GIVEAWAY! “Welcome to my Classroom” (closed)

31 Jul

Thank you everyone, this contest is now closed. Winners will be announced August 10.

Beginning the new school year on a positive note sets the stage for a productive school year. Help your students start strong. Put them at ease and instill confidence in their upcoming school year with a “welcome” BragTag!

Twitter link

Winner has choice of the Pencil BragTag, the Star BragTag or we’ll design any BragTag to your exact specifications! Once we have your specifications – we ship tags the following day – so you will have them in plenty of time for your first day of class!

 

BragTag™ Giveaway August 1-9.

Remember to enter giveaway:

 

1. Follow our blog (upper right hand side).
2. Comment on this post. (How do you welcome students to the new school year?)
3. Follow us on twitter!
 
92 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

92 responses to “BragTag GIVEAWAY! “Welcome to my Classroom” (closed)

  1. Amelia Cook

    July 31, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    I welcome my students by making each one of them feel like we are a big family. We hold a bead ceremony where each child places a unique bead in a jar and shares how they will contribute to make our family a happy and safe place. It really helps us with bringing a big sense of community into our classroom.

     
  2. Heather W.

    July 31, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    I welcome my students with a bag full of goodies and a special treat with a note letting them know how special each of them really are.

     
  3. Darlene Argo

    July 31, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    I welcome my students with a cute “Survival Kit” goodie bag but would love to include Brag Tags!

     
  4. Andi

    July 31, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    I welcome my students with special name tags with their pictures on them. Then, we complete a Hopes and Dreams Poster to find out what each of us wants the most out of our time together.

     
  5. Beverly

    July 31, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    I welcome my students by sending a postcard to them before they arrive. After they arrive, I have goodies on their desk for them.

     
  6. Rebecca Davis

    July 31, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    I welcome my kiddos with a huge smile and a hug. We then talk about how we are a classroom family, and this year I am going to have them do the thumbprint family tree I keep seeing on Pinterest. All my kiddos also receive a small bag of goodies 🙂

     
  7. Colleen F

    July 31, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    I love your tags! I greet students with a display out in the hall, with all of their names, and then take pictures of them in front of it. They also receive a letter from me with their assignment letter.

     
  8. Ally Kay

    July 31, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I welcome them with a scavenger hunt where we tour the school. I share some information about me. Afterwards we do an activity where they share about their favorites.

     
  9. Lindsey Phillips

    July 31, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    I welcome my students with a loving hug and smile, treat bag, and special poem !

     
  10. Cheryl

    July 31, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    I welcome my students with a hug and a goodie bag – filled with “magic” playdough, special nametag and other goodies. We usually meet on Meet the Teacher night the week before, but on the first day I take their pic and put it with a poem and laminate to send home to parents the first day of school.

     
  11. Allison Kellly

    July 31, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    I love the first day of school!!!! I welcome my students with a smile, empathy for how they are feeling, a fun story to share, and lots and lots of laughs! It is SO important to me that my students feel safe and secure in THEIR classroom, and building that starts on the very first day! 🙂

     
  12. Pauline Pretz

    August 1, 2012 at 12:09 am

    I meet my kids with a special tool kit, a welcome to 1st grade pencil, an eraser etc. and a special journal book for them to decorate with stickers and markers. While they are doing that I take their picture in an explorers hat and a magnifying glass to post on our Bulletin Board” 1st grade explores their world”. I love your brag tags.

     
  13. Kelly Beam Brown

    August 1, 2012 at 12:40 am

    I welcome my students with a big ole smile and of course I have some little goodies ready for them. Usually my students and their families come to meet me one night before school starts. Each student has a poem and glitter to take home and put under their bed the night before school starts. I also have a goodie/welcome bag to tell them a bit about our class with special items inside the bag. I love meeting my students and I always want everyone to feel welcome!

     
  14. Jennifer Long

    August 1, 2012 at 12:46 am

    I welcome my kiddos with a smile and a lot of encouragement! It’s a huge jump from K to First after a nice long summer so we spend a lot of time getting to know each other and creating a school family!

     
  15. Mrs. Phillips (@MrsPEdTechTalk)

    August 1, 2012 at 12:49 am

    When I taught 5th grade, they each had a welcome bookmark and a new pencil waiting for them on their desk. I also greeted them at the door. Now that I teach computers, I welcome them each at the door and try to learn all of their names! 🙂

     
  16. Jenny Judge

    August 1, 2012 at 1:13 am

    I welcome my students with classical music, easy desk work, and their first “test”. They must find the number on their name tag on their desk and match it to one of the cubbies to find where they they should put their backpacks,lunches and coats. A few students at a time, of course:)

     
  17. Kira Adam

    August 1, 2012 at 1:47 am

    I welcome my students with a smile! I smile, shake their hand, and hand them a pencil and a nametag for their desk. They pick their desk, decorate their nametag and enjoy a back to school wordsearch at their desk while the others arrive. I have music playing in the background, too. It’s a fun day!

     
  18. MJ (@sumrthyme)

    August 1, 2012 at 2:00 am

    I call of the parents before Open House to invite them. At Open House, I give all the students the poem about being nervous with a little bag of confetti to put under their pillow the night before the first day of school.

     
  19. MJ (@sumrthyme)

    August 1, 2012 at 2:01 am

    Blog follower.

     
  20. MJ (@sumrthyme)

    August 1, 2012 at 2:02 am

    Follow on Twitter – @Sumrthyme

     
  21. Karyn

    August 1, 2012 at 2:35 am

    I welcome my students mailing a welcome post card. On the first day I have a little packet of goodies that I give them. Each item represents something (I.e., an eraser means that we all make mistakes and we learn from our mistakes, etc).

     
  22. Linda Watts

    August 1, 2012 at 2:38 am

    I welcome my students each year with a smile and tell them how lucky I am to have them in my class. This year the door is decorated with their picture and name on an owl and says Look whoooos in Mrs. Watts First Grade class. I velcro each desk with a small basket and cups to hold their supplies. I also put “Welcome to first grade” treat bags with pencils, erasers, stickers, notepad, etc. I try to make the classroom colorful, safe, and a comfortable place to come each day to learn.

     
  23. Helen Wagner

    August 1, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Hi! I welcome my kids with a goodie bag of school supplies and a treat! On the first day, we all make a bulletin board together, highlighting special things about each student. I would love to win some awesome brag tags!

     
  24. Morgan worthington

    August 1, 2012 at 3:28 am

    Actually, I’m not sure what I’m going to do this year. Our school just changed how we are doing things so I’m searching for ideas of what to do. I’m thinking of doing helium balloons with each student’s name on it and then tied to them will be a bag of goodies. It’s still a work in progress!

     
  25. Inés

    August 1, 2012 at 4:52 am

    I welcome my kids with a big smile , a big hug and a funny game to play all together.

     
  26. Rachel

    August 1, 2012 at 10:58 am

    I welcome my students with a bag full of goodies! I usually include a book, bookmark, and a pencil. Would love to add Brag Tags!

    rmariemuniz@hotmail.com

     
  27. Peggy Paulson

    August 1, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I work in a small private school and know all of the students that are coming into my class. I welcome my students with a fun classroom scavenger hunt. Once we are done (and I give them a tour of the classroom), I give them pieces of a truncated icosahedron (a giant soccer ball!) to write their names, likes, and ideas for the year. Then we put it together and hang it in our classroom. An introduction to each other and a team building project to make a very WELCOMING classroom!!
    Maybe I can hang BragTags from it!! I’ll let you know!!
    Peggy

     
  28. Amie

    August 1, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    I send postcards to my students. I also have some treat for them during meet the teacher. These are really cool.

     
  29. Christie Brown

    August 1, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    I welcome my students with a goodie bag. Brag tags will be a great addition!

     
  30. Rhonda P.

    August 1, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    I welcome my students by creating a “family” atmosphere. We talk about our likes, dislikes, and goals for the year. We also make a poster that says “Everyone is Unique!” and stamp our thumbprint in ink onto the poster and sign it. We talk about how everyone learns at a different pace and may have different tasks. This helps throughout the year as students see that others may get different assignments. I just refer to the poster “Everyone is unique!”

     
  31. Laura MacDougall

    August 1, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    I welcome students to the new year by first calling them and their parents to tell them how excited I am! I also try to create an inviting and exciting room for them to feel comfortable in!

     
  32. Michelle Henderson

    August 1, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    I welcome students with a get to know me, get to know your peers and reading ‘First Day Jitters.’

     
  33. Marilyn

    August 2, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I welcome my students with a letter and a special name tag for the first day of school.

     
  34. Kelly McHaffie

    August 2, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    I welcome students with a postcard sent home the weekend before school starts. I also greet them each and every morning with a hug, handshake, or highfive, a smile, and a “good morning!”

     
  35. Sandra Matadamas

    August 2, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    I love giving my students a little treat on the first day of school… This year, I plan on sending out postcards!

     
  36. Kahla Larson

    August 2, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    I always send postcards, make a phone call to invite them to Meet the Teacher, and have a special pencil/name card waiting for them when they arrive. This year I’m adding their first grade brag tag to get them started for the year!

     
  37. Angelia

    August 3, 2012 at 1:42 am

    I welcome my students with a bag of goodies and a special note. Also, I send a note before school starts.

     
  38. Amanda

    August 4, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I welcome my students with a goodie bag and “Magic Confetti” to help them sleep the night before. I meet with their parents before school starts, so they will take the magic confetti home the night before and children will receive their goodie bag on the first day.

     
  39. The Colorful Classroom

    August 4, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    We make friendship salad using different fruits and whipped cream as our snack. each student gets to add some fruit and talk about what makes a good friend. Then we get to see that combining all of those attributes together makes one really good friend! They love this activity and refer back to it all year : ) ( following as The ColorfulClassroom.wordpress.com) Thanks for the chance!

     
  40. Stacey S

    August 4, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    I send the parents and students a letter and/or email and try to set up a chance to meet with them one-on-one before school starts. This gives me an opportunity to assess the student in a quiet setting, share a welcome packet with forms and information for the parents, and I give the students a pencil, magnet, sticker, and book.

     
  41. Pam Justus

    August 4, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    I try to make my children feel like we are a classroom family. We work on positive comments and experiences. Mistakes are ok because that is how we learn. This would be a BIG plus in my classroom. I hope I just entered the contest!

     
  42. Laura Martin

    August 4, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    I welcome my students with a First Grade is Far Out goodie bag! I also send a welcome postcard before Meet The Teacher!

     
  43. Marissa Zimmer

    August 6, 2012 at 2:09 am

    I welcome my students with a letter the week before school starts. I’ve never done goodie bags before, but I’ve seen so many ideas this summer that this may be a first!

     
  44. Missy K.

    August 6, 2012 at 2:09 am

    I greet them with a smile, show them where their name is in their name is already posted in our new classroom and hopefully, by the end of the day, they return the smile and maybe a hug. I would love to send my little one’s home with an “I was a star” brag tag to help them have positive feelings toward their new school. (I also liked Ally Kay’s idea of a scavenger hunt, I think I may incorporate that into my first day lesson plans!)

     
  45. Barbara K.

    August 6, 2012 at 3:20 am

    I welcome my first graders with a video of students from the previous year…showing them all the learning that will happen in 1st grade!

     
  46. Alesha Reed

    August 6, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    I welcome my students by having a sharpened pencil, notebook and folder on their desks ready for the day. I also read them lots of fun stories throughout the day.

     
  47. Lindsay Wexler

    August 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    I welcome my students with at least one school supply that is related to the classroom theme for the year. For example, last year my theme as “Oh the Places You’ll Go!”. So they each received a pencil and a book mark with images from the Dr. Seuss book. This year, my theme is Rockstars, so I purchased guitar and guitar pick-shaped erasers. Each student will find this and a full sheet of labels with their names printed on it, which they love!

     
  48. Terri Izatt

    August 7, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    I am welcoming my students with playdough that will change from boring white to colorful fun! A brag tag would be so fun to add into the mix.

     
  49. Shelia Davis

    August 7, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    I welcome my students with a goody bag and coloring paper they do that us about them. Then we will have a hunt the first day. They’ll also get Cat in the Hat hats to wear home.

     
  50. ErinB

    August 7, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    For the first year ever, I’ll be welcoming my students with BragTags, and I’m so excited!! I have a Smart board file that welcomes the students to grade 5, we do getting-to-know-me activities, a classroom scavenger hunt, and some games and activities around rules and expectations.

     
  51. Amie Van Amberg

    August 7, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    I greet them with a smile, a handshake, and a gift at Open House before school starts 🙂

     
  52. Shelly

    August 7, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I welcome my students with a “survival kit”

    Shelly
    projectqn@tx.rr.com

     
  53. Heather S.

    August 7, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Whether we are starting a new job or entering a new classroom, we all want to feel that we belong! I begin in the hall. On the bulletin board just outside my classroom, there is a display with all students’ names. Last year, it read “Third grade is a bushel of fun!” All the students’ names were written on apples. As students enter the room, they will find their names on name tags on their desks, and in cubbies. I want them to feel as though they have ownership of our classroom as soon as they enter. When they go to their desk, they will find a welcome to our class pencil, a small piece of candy, and a sticker that says, “Welcome to third grade.” I will also read a book to set the tone. I love the book Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes. Next, I have the students write a letter to me. In it, they describe the kind of students they are, something they do well, something they want to improve, what they love in a teacher, what qualities they do not like in a teacher, and at least one thing they want to learn in third grade. At some point during the first day, I take a class photo. I send that home in a newsletter to introduce our new class to the families. I also take individual photos. The next day students insert these into foam star frames and decorate them with different shapes and their names. These will be displayed in the back of our classroom on a board that reads, “Mrs. Stephenson’s All-stars!” That board remains intact all year, so everyone who enters the room sees our class. When students leave for the day, they take with them a magnet (the size of the business card) that reads, “Hand in hand, together we can.” This card contains my contact information. I want students and families to know that we are all part of an educational team. About a week after school has started, I send home a quilt piece. Each student designs their own piece to show us his/her hobbies, accomplishments, and pictures of family. It is a nice culmination piece to show everyone our new “classroom family.” This stays up all year in the hallway, so anyone who passes by, sees our classroom family. This is how I welcome students to my classroom. Thank you for this opportunity! I hope everyone has a wonderful beginning to the new school year.

     
  54. Briana L.

    August 7, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    I welcome my students with a treat or goody bag with a few school supplies. I also have a special activity for our first day of school.

     
  55. brenda

    August 7, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Weeks before the students even arrive, I send a welcome letter to the students through the mail and an evite to their parents via email. The letter gives them a little information about myself and a sneak peak at what our year will be like. I also check my birthday list and see who has a summer birthday, I then call each child during the summer on their special day to wish them a happy birthday…after all, they usually get short changed. On the first day I stand in the hallway and make sure to welcome and smile at each child as they enter the classroom. I too get the first day jitters!

     
  56. Jenny

    August 8, 2012 at 2:47 am

    This will be my first year to welcome students to my class and I would love for Brag Tags to be a part of my traditions from year one! 🙂

     
  57. Emily F.

    August 8, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    This will be my first year teaching and I have already bought a bunch of Brag Tags to use in my classroom!! I plan on welcoming my students by having them do a “classroom hunt” in which they will find important parts of the classroom, such as our clip chart (behavior chart), smart board, their cubbies, desks (all of which will have a little treat on them!), where to put their materials, reading corner and more. I am then going to go over classroom expectations and the schedule with my students and read them the book, “Have You Filled a Bucket Today?” After this we will talk about how we can fill each other’s buckets and those in our school and all of the students will have the opportunity to fill each other’s buckets that I have made for them. These will be kept in the classroom throughout the year! I also bought the Bucket Filler Brag Tags to give each of them for filling their classmate’s buckets! 🙂 Lastly, I will be taking pictures of all of them and creating a class tree that will have each student’s picture and an interesting fact about them that they will share with the class. I want to create a very positive and welcoming environment where students feel safe and learning is fun!

     
  58. Lisa R.

    August 9, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    I welcome my students by providing them with a Meet the Teacher bag when they come to meet me. Since I have a pirate theme, it says, “We will treasure our time together in first grade”. We also have several special first day activities.

     
  59. Lori

    August 9, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    I welcome my students by first mailing them a postcard letting them know how excited I am to be their teacher. Then when they come to meed the teacher I greet them with a smile and special gift.

    Lori
    wrlean@aol.com

     
  60. Patty Prendergast

    August 9, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    I welcome my students with a letter in the mail welcoming them to a fun filled back to school night.

     
  61. Stacee

    August 9, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    I welcome my students by being super excited to meet them and leaving a sweet gift/treat on their desk to help describe who their year in 2nd grade will be. I also work on being super positive and have lots of energy so they see how fun 2nd grade is 🙂
    Stacee

     
  62. Angela

    August 9, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    I follow your blog (via Google Reader)!

     
  63. Angela

    August 9, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    I change how I welcome my students every year! I teach combined grades, so I can’t repeat for two years anyway. 🙂 I’m trying to figure out my welcome for this year. I think we’ll make some Jitter Juice on the first day!

     
  64. Kaia

    August 9, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    This year I’m giving students a small takeout box and a fortune cookie on Meet the Teacher night. The takeout box says “I’m so FORTUNATE to have you in my class!”. I also plan on playing lots of get-to-know-you type games and community building activities the first month of school!

     
  65. Melinda Lee Fishback

    August 9, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    I welcome my kiddos with a hug, a smile, and some type of special prize – brag tags would be awesome!

     
  66. Joann B.

    August 9, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    I welcome my class by sending home a special note and ask each child to bring in some special items to help us get to know each other. I would love to start Brag Tags as a new school tradition.

     
  67. Mindy Adams

    August 9, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I welcome my students with an “All About Me” gift bag (Open House). I put a few treats in it for them, but then they have to use the bag for their first assignment. They have to fill the bag with 3 things from home that they really like. The students must bring the bags to school on the first day. We spend a good amount of time sharing what is in our bags. It’s a good way for me to learn more about the students and for them to learn more about each other.

     
  68. Jennifer

    August 9, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    I welcome students at our Meet the Teacher night with a little goody bag including “magic” confetti that they sprinkle under their pillow to give them sweet dreams the night before school! On our first day we do a school scavenger hunt where we try to find a story character – sometimes it is Chester from Kissing Hand, once we did gingerbread and this year it might be a monster from “Where the Wild Things Are”! When we finally get back to our room, that little character will have scampered away but left behind will be a little treat! I am getting sooo excited for back-to-school, I can’t wait!

     
    • Diane Zurlo Keller

      August 9, 2012 at 4:54 pm

      I love your ideas Jennifer!

       
  69. vicky

    August 9, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    I always get so excited for the new school year. I welcome the kiddos and parents…the parents get a little candy treat with a cute tag on it and the kiddos get a goody bag. It’s so fun. I would love some of your brag tags.
    Vicky
    mandysmom99@aol.com

     
  70. Diane Zurlo Keller

    August 9, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    I always send a postcard to my future students once I get my class list. We have a meet and greet day at my school and during meet and greet I give my students a special treat. In the past it was a “I’m a Second Grader” pencil, but I’ve moved to Kindergarten this year so the pencils are Kinder themed! I’m very excited, and nervous, about my first day in the new grade. I would love to have a set of brag tags to share with my students – the star that says “I survived my first day of Kindergarten” would be perfect for both my class and me since it will be my first day too! Thank you for the opportunity.

     
  71. Diane Zurlo Keller

    August 9, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    I follow your blog.

     
  72. Diane Zurlo Keller

    August 9, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    I am a follower on Twitter.

     
  73. Carol Schroden

    August 9, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    I welcome my students by first mailing them a postcard letting them know how excited I am to be their teacher and that I’m looking forward to meeting them at Open House.

     
  74. Chris Brown

    August 9, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    I follow your blog

     
  75. Kelly Malloy

    August 9, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    I welcome students back to school with a welcome letter.

     
  76. Chris Brown

    August 9, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    I always send my students a letter welcoming them to my class and also give them a welcome to school goodie bag.

     
  77. Sasha Petersen Storper

    August 9, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    I welcome them by making them by doing an All About Me unit that celebrates how we are all special yet different.

     
  78. Allison Brocking

    August 9, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    I send my students a letter welcoming them back to school and to my class.

     
  79. Erin

    August 9, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    We always do “Star of the Day” where each student gets to have a super special day all about them! So much fun!

     
  80. Janel Habosha

    August 9, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    We send them a postcard in the mail prior to meet and greet. At meet and greet, they will get a glow stick saying, “Looking forward to a bright year!”

     
  81. Sarah M

    August 9, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    I follow your site by e-mail.

     
  82. Sarah M

    August 9, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I welcome kiddos with a little package of goodies on their desks for the first day of school!

     
  83. Terri Stauffer

    August 9, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    I welcome my middle schoolers by greeting them at the door, hugging or high 5’s if they want, and asking them about their summer.

     
  84. Corinna Woita

    August 9, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Hi,
    I love your brag tags! I know that dogtags really motivate kids and they would feel pretty special getting a tag for an acheivement. I try to love those kids and make them love learning! I’m following your blog and twitter feed. Thanks!
    Corinna

     
  85. Carissa

    August 9, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    I welcome my kiddos with a special bag filled with goodies they will need in 2nd grade. There is a cute poem attached to the front of the bag explaining each item. I also greet them with a bug hug, huge smile, and am hoping to greet them with some brag tags this year! 🙂

     
  86. Kris

    August 9, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    I welcome kiddos with a goodie bag and special pencil on their desk.

     
  87. Amanda Lawson

    August 9, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    I welcome my students with a goody bag and smile!!

     
  88. Sara Edgar

    August 10, 2012 at 1:03 am

    I give my students a bag of Ready Confetti at orientation.

     
  89. Shelly

    August 10, 2012 at 2:08 am

    I follow your blog

     
  90. Shelly

    August 10, 2012 at 2:08 am

    I follow you on Twitter

     
  91. Shelly

    August 10, 2012 at 2:11 am

    On the first day of school we have a classroom scavenger hunt and I give away goodie bags. Lastly, at the end of the day I send an email to the parents/students with a “Welcome” glog complete with a video, photo slide show, QR code for contact, and important class links.

     

We LOVE hearing from you! Let us know what you think.

 
