RSS

You Go Spa Girl! Certificate GIVEAWAY

07 Sep

Whew! You deserve a break today! : )

Dear Sweet, Lovely, Smart, Caring Teachers,
imagestuff.com would like to help you relax after your past few weeks of rigorous preparation for “back to school”. We think you deserve it!
 
TO ENTER:
Comment on this post: What stood out to you most during your first week back to school? (something funny a student said, how much fun you had in your classroom or certain activity with your students… etc.) That’s it!
You go spa girl!

WINNER will receive a $50 gift certificate to your favorite local spa. (Once the winner is announced, arrangements will be made at your local spa).

Contest Dates: September 7-10

Winner announced: September 11

5 Tips to help you relax after a busy few weeks:

1. Watch a Funny Movie – Research has proven that laughter often is the best medicine. The natural endorphins that are released while laughing help bring us relief from the stresses of the world. Find something that will really give you a good belly laugh – something that might even make your eyes water from the joy it brings.

2. Try Something New – This might be something you do different during your classes or it could be something in your personal life. Burnout can often be caused by getting caught in a rut. While on the Internet, search for new lessons or materials to help you teach an upcoming topic. Outside of school, find something that you’ve always wanted to try but haven’t done yet. This might be something as simple as enrolling in a cooking class or more ambitious like learning to fly an airplane. You will find that these experiences outside of school will also transform your day-to-day teaching.

3. Leave Your Teaching at School – While this is not always possible, try not to bring home work every night. You might want to consider going into school early so that you can complete your paperwork. Then you will be able to leave as soon as your workday is done. Every person needs that mental break from their work, so use the time in the evening for you and your family.

4. Get Plenty of Sleep – “According to the Division of Sleep Medicine at Harvard Medical School, your body manages and requires sleep in much the same way that it regulates the need for eating, drinking, and breathing. Extensive research has been done on the effects of sleep. These studies have consistently shown that sleep plays a vital role in promoting physical health, longevity, and emotional well-being.”

5. SPA DAY – One of the best ways to decompress is to get away from it all and really focus on relaxation. We can help you with this one! : )

Good luck in this Spa Certificate Giveaway! 

 
36 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

36 responses to “You Go Spa Girl! Certificate GIVEAWAY

  1. Barb

    September 7, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    I still consider myself young even though I’m actually over 50. I am single and have never had children. I have been teaching in the same county for a little over 20 years and currently teach 5th graders. During the first week of school this year, a “sweet” little fifth grader came up to me and asked if I remembered a former student of mine named Shanna. I told him that I did remember her and told him a cute little story about her. That little sweetheart then told me that Shanna was…….. his MOTHER! OUCH! I doubled over like he had kicked me in the stomach and started groaning loudly! It hurt! I knew if I taught long enough that it would happen. I just didn’t think reality would hit me quite so soon. I’m officially OLD!

     
  2. Danielle D'Andrea

    September 7, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    What stood out most to me is a question one of my K students asked me. The class was coloring a picture of a monster with a sign that said “I love my new class!” I read the picture. A couple students said, “I love my new teacher,” so I said “I love my new students”. One student asked me, “How can you love all of your new students?” I thought it was really funny at the moment! 🙂

    Danielle
    danielledandrea@aol.com

     
  3. Adelia Hall

    September 7, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    What stood out was that no matter what happens, kids are still kids. They are always excited and a little nervous the first day. They all want to be loved and accepted. There is nothing like unloading the backpack with all those glorious school supplies!

     
  4. Colleen F

    September 7, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    I have an awesome class! I haven’t said that for a while! I feel blessed this year!

     
  5. Rhonda P.

    September 7, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    Being told that I have a great class! I thought so, but to be told by the other two teachers on my team is nice to hear!

     
  6. Christina Adams

    September 8, 2012 at 12:04 am

    Story from another teacher. She was teaching her kindergarten class about sorting. She asked how she had sorted the shapes. One little boy raised his hand and said, “I just wanted to tell you that you are doing a wonderful job today.”. To cute!

     
  7. April Bishop

    September 8, 2012 at 12:16 am

    We made Getting to Know You initial dog tag necklaces with the Welcome to Our Class tag I bought from you and the kids love them! They now have goals to earn more beads and tags to add this year. Great motivation and excitement!

     
  8. Sheri

    September 8, 2012 at 1:52 am

    What stood out to me….is how well my kindergarten students can rhyme! While giving the KRAL I was asking a student to say a word that rhymes with stick. He said that he knows one but it was a bad word. He also knows a bad word that rhymes with truck. I think he will be reading soon! 🙂

     
  9. Katie Smith

    September 8, 2012 at 2:09 am

    One of our third graders told me yesterday (as she was swinging during recess), I love your style Mrs. Smith. 🙂

    I also saved a child who was dangling upside down from another swing while his pants came off.

    AND

    A hawk dropped a mouse from it’s beak right into a gaggle of girls who were standing on the soccer field.

    Recess has been so eventful!
    Thanks for the giveaway
    Katie
    I Want to be a Super Teacher

     
  10. Debbie Shaw

    September 8, 2012 at 2:21 am

    I have 2! The first one was on the “meet the teacher” day. I asked a little boy what he did special over the summer and he said “Math and writing in my journal”. Then, on the 2nd day of school, I got a note from a mom and she said that when she asked her son about his first day of school he said “It was a 10! The best day of school ever!” That definitely made my day. Now she writes everyday that it was a 10! Sure does make my day and make me feel good.

     
  11. Lisa Klink

    September 8, 2012 at 2:29 am

    I am a middle school special education science teacher, and last year was my very first year teaching. What stood out to me this year in the first week of school was not just the happiness of my current students, but the big surprise that most of last year’s graduating class came to visit me after school on the first day. At the beginning of the school year, they told me they hated school and couldn’t wait to graduate. For them to even come back on the school grounds was a miracle. Three of my students came with a bouquet of flowers to congratulate me on my recent marriage over the summer. My husband works in the TV and film industry and helped the students learn about our light unit, and the students were excited ever since he came in to show his work on shows and movies! I am glad I have touched the lives of my students, even if I only started this wonderful career a year ago. It was the best way to start another school year, knowing that I will always be remembered and my students look forward to our time together!

     
  12. Heather

    September 8, 2012 at 2:54 am

    How many good readers I have this year. even my most struggling readers seem to want to find a good book. I can’t wait to hear what they think about thhe books they are reading now.

     
  13. hrmason

    September 8, 2012 at 2:56 am

    How many kids I have this year who love reading! Even my struggling students seem to be eager to find a good book. I can’t wait to hear what they think of the books they are reading now.

     
  14. Michele Johnson

    September 8, 2012 at 5:37 am

    Something that made me feel good this week was that a majority of my 27 third graders gave me a hug and wished me a good evening or weekend at the end of each day. I felt that we had made a good connection so far this year!

     
  15. Charlotte Jones

    September 8, 2012 at 10:27 am

    The thing that stood out for me this week was how eager the students were to learn new things. Usually, they are tired from a very busy summer, but they were up to the challenge.

     
  16. Cheryl Shaw

    September 8, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    After being warned about apparent problems I was about to encounter with my new class, I tried to start with an open mind and have been overwhelmed by my wonderful students. Yes they are talkative and opinionated, but we have great discussions and they love to learn new things. It’s going to be a great year!

     
  17. Jennifer

    September 8, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    I teach first grade and I was so excited about how well prepared the students were for first grade. Yea kinder team!

     
  18. jwolff63

    September 8, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    I teach first grade and was so excited about how well prepared the students seemed to be. Yea kinder team!

     
  19. Lisa

    September 8, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    Great contest–thank you for providing the opportunity to enter!

    What has stood out most to me the most during the first few days of school is how much the kids are wanting someone just to listen to them. I think this is true all year–not just at the beginning of the year when some of them haven’t had as much social interaction over the summer. I worry that sometimes we don’t give them enough of a chance to talk about themselves–we are so focused on pushing curriculum because of time constraints and assessments.

    I have a game I play at the beginning of every year that gives the kids a chance to talk about things that are important to them and give their opinions. It’s simple, easy, and cheap…a beach ball with kid-friendly questions written on it. They answer the question where their right pointer finger lands (or the closest question to that finger). Being specific about the location of the question keeps them from reading all the surrounding questions and taking a long time to decide which question they want to answer. (For younger students, I do a beach ball with no questions, and call out a question for them to answer based on the color where their right hand lands–or left…gives the younger kids a chance to practice right/left and colors). They stand in a circle and toss the ball to each other. They have to call out the person’s name before they throw the ball to them…that way they are learning names (and I am too!!) and the child is ready to catch the ball, without everyone diving after it. After the child has answered the question and thrown it to the next person, they sit down, so everyone knows who hasn’t had a chance to go yet. This game gives the kids a chance to talk about themselves and they love being able to throw a ball in the classroom. They even ask to play it throughout the year…long after everyone is familiar with each other! I’m currently at the elementary level, but used to teach at a high school–and it was just as popular with the teenagers!

     
  20. Amber

    September 8, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    What stood out for me is a comment that one of my students made while I was reading the book “Edwina the Dinosaur who didn’t know she was extinct”. One of my students told me that not all dinosaurs are extinct, Nessy is a dinosaur and is alive. I asked him if he was talking about the Lockness Monster and he said yes. How does a first grader know about the Lockness Monster is beyond me.

     
  21. Melissa

    September 8, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    I have taught grades 7-12 for the past 6 years. This is my first year teaching lower grades (3/4), and I was nervous about it. One of my little ones drew me a picture yesterday, and wrote that she loves me because I’m nice and sweet. How cute!

     
  22. Teresa Wilson

    September 8, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    I had the absolute BEST first week ever! I love my kids!

     
  23. Michelle Ross

    September 8, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    I have taught for 14 years. My grade level partner and I decided to loop with our students from fifth to sixth grade because the two sixth grade teachers retired and we wanted to take our students through the final year of elementary school before they left for junior high. We prepared for new curriculum and standards but felt confident that our policies and procedures were in place to start off a new year. Well, we hit the ground running with a new principal, new students (32) in our classrooms, not enough textbooks, new dismissal procedures, new school discipline procedures, new sixth grade leadership (student) roles, teacher leadership roles, teacher trainings, mentoring positions, and I am our Unions Vice-President and State Council Representative. So……..what I thought was going to be a smooth start turned into a roller coaster but I have to say my students kept me laughing and smiling every day. We had a great last year and I can’t wait to see them continue to grow this year and promote into junior high and be amazing young adults!

     
  24. fourcornerslife

    September 9, 2012 at 1:15 am

    My first day was wonderful–so smooth, a fun group of kids, and the melt downs from kids with disabilities who melted down last year didn’t really happen. Makes up for all the grown-up problems our school has this year!

     
  25. fourcornerslife

    September 9, 2012 at 1:17 am

    I had a wonderful first day–smooth, kids are lots of fun, the kids who melted down last year were just fine. It makes up for all the grown up problems our school is having this year!

     
  26. Amy Novellino

    September 9, 2012 at 1:21 am

    One of my students, who stated he did not like to read on the 1st day of school, has now said that he loves reading!!!!

     
  27. Chanel B.

    September 9, 2012 at 1:30 am

    My kindergarten students, even though brand new to the school are getting acclimated quite well to the classroom routines. The thing that stood out the most is how well they did during the fire drill.

     
  28. Kristi Koski Vantassel

    September 9, 2012 at 5:06 am

    During the first few days of school my sixth grade class plays a game so I can quickly learn all 90-100 names (one class of 25 as a time). The students sit in a circle (on a chair) with one student standing in the middle. The student says, “Hi my name is ______ and I like or have or want _____” Every student that has that in common or shares that interest must race to a new chair. The last person standing starts the next round. I quickly learn names as well as who is shy, outgoing, the class clown, etc. Towards the end of the game, if I can name the student in the middle, I ask that they pick someone they don’t think I know to replace them. It is very memorable when some says, “Hi, my name is ______ and I’m in sixth grade!” What chaos! I love it!

     
  29. Lori barker

    September 9, 2012 at 5:16 am

    During meet the class bingo, my third grade boy said, “I get nervous talking to girls! But I really like this!”

     
  30. msgabay

    September 9, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    I had a Freshwomen on the third day of school come up to me and ask if I could moderate a Poetry Club! We are both new to the school, but I am so excited to have a student with such initiative. Our first meeting is Tuesday. 🙂

     
  31. Ashley Cahill

    September 10, 2012 at 12:29 am

    As a primary teacher, we preteach every process and procedure. One thing that I didn\’t give much prep on was recess. After asking the class to line up for our first recess one of my little shy kiddos raised his hand so politely. After I called on him he looked up at me very nervously and said in a quiet voice \”but teachers… i don\’t know how to do recess…\”

     
  32. Joanne M.

    September 10, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    My favorite moment actually happened today while helping our PreK kids. I had just read “Llama, Llama Misses Mama” and we were discussing making new friends and being shy, when all of a sudden this little hand grabbed mine and a little voice said, “Will YOU be my new friend?” How cute is that?

     
  33. Rachel F

    September 10, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    All the wonderful students eager to learn.

     
  34. Emmy

    September 10, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    What stood out to me my first week back at school was when one little boy got up and said “see what I can do” and did a somersault and everyone thought it was so cool and started clapping and then a girl wordlessly got up and did a front flip in the air and landed right onn her feet (she told me she was a gymnast) and everyone was screaming and the boy was staring at her in awe and asked her if she wanted to be his girlfriend:)

     
  35. Emmybear411

    September 10, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    What stood out to me my first week back at school was when a little boy got up and said (Hey everyone, look what I can do” and did a somersault and everyone was cheering and clapping and asking how he did it and then a little girl got up and wordlessly did a perfect front flip in the air alnding perfectly on her feet. Everyone was shocked screaming loudly and begging her to do it again and the boy who did the somersault stared at her in awe and asked her if she could be his girlfriend:) mslamani(at)hotmail(dot)com THANK YOU SO SO SOOO VERY MUCH:D!!!!!!!

     
  36. Morgan Worthington

    September 11, 2012 at 4:13 am

    I was pleasently surprised with how sweet and kind my students are. I’m looking forward to a fun and challenging year!

     

We LOVE hearing from you! Let us know what you think.

 
